I just beat F-Zero GX on Master Difficulty

One of my earlier blog posts on this website was about one of my favorite videogames, F-Zero GX, and how I simultaneously love and hate it. Here is a quote of mine from that post:

“It has a reputation of being the hardest game on the Gamecube, and of being one of the hardest games of all time. It can be extremely frustrating. Calling the game ‘challenging’ would be an understatement.”

I went on to talk about how stressful the game’s highest difficulty level is, and yet I couldn’t stop playing even though the game had become so hard that it was just lame.

The game is not lame. I was lame. So I just kept playing, getting better and better, and now today I HAVE BEATEN EVERY GRAND PRIX ON THE HIGHEST DIFFICULTY.

Here is some glorious photographic evidence:

The 4 little stars above each Grand Prix indicate that I have completed each one on all 4 difficulties.
The 4 little stars above each Grand Prix indicate that I have completed each one on all 4 difficulties.

I would never make a post like this if it weren’t for the fact that this is considered one of the hardest games of all time. But I actually did it, and man I feel good. Like my hard work paid off, even though playing a videogame is not really hard work.

But there’s more to do. You unlock some bonus courses from the F-Zero arcade game, and there’s still the story mode I haven’t completed yet. This game has driven me totally insane. I feel like I’m in a romantic relationship with it, because we know each other so well, and I can’t give it up even when it’s abusing me.

It is rare for me to get this into a game. It’s totally crazy. But F-Zero GX is a one-of-a-kind 10/10 title that will likely be my favorite racing game for all time.

