How to do life

Sometimes life is complicated. We don’t always know what to do.

Something I usually do that helps me out is write stuff. Anything. Write about my day, something going on my life, a to-do list, a list of goals, whatever. Sometimes I type, sometimes I handwrite, sometimes I publish blog posts. It’s a very meditative and helpful thing for me, and many other people too.

Here was something I just wrote to help me make life a bit less complicated. In my opinion, this little note is simple and beautiful, so I feel like sharing.

How to do life

I’m sure you can read that because the photo is huge, but here’s what it says:

How to do life

Active:

  • Student Affairs
  • Make friends/date
  • Take care of body + mind
  • Go on adventures

Passive:

  • LOVE! Devote every moment of your life to feeling and expressing love.”

 

And that’s what it says. It’s pretty self-explanatory, I think. The only thing on here that may not be universally applicable or easy to understand is “Student Affairs.” I made this for myself, so that’s why my specific career/passion is up at the top.

If you want to use this list for yourself, just replace “Student Affairs” with whatever your greatest passion is.

By the way, here’s a pro-tip: your greatest passion (or at least one of your top three greatest passions) should be your career. There is nothing more miserable than making a living while failing to live, while feeling miserable and doing work that doesn’t suit you or make you feel alive and zesty. If you’ve gotten stuck doing something that doesn’t fill you with joy, then make some dramatic changes. That’s scary yes, but it’ll be okay, people have done it. Heck, I’ve done it. I switched from a potential career in the film industry to working in education. Had to sacrifice and change a lot, but it was all worth it.

Anyway, I went way off-topic just now! I hope this post makes it a little bit simpler to know what to do in life! It helped me, so I just wanted to share with the world.

