Day 1: Half-Failure

hysteria6
If you type “half failure” into Google Images, this panel from Hyperbole and a Half is the result.

My car broke down. I was able to get it started again, but the engine light is on, the car shakes and vibrates and rattles, and I really have to put the pedal to the metal to even get it to move. It is a pretty old car, and I keep thinking of that time when, just a year ago, it broke down and wouldnstart back up. I had to spend $1,000 in repairs and live at my friend’s place for three days because I had been visiting them from far away. If something like that happened again, while I was on my roadtrip out in the middle of nowhere (ie, not visiting a friend), and somewhere I’ve never been before no less, it would be devastating. So I have driven my car back home and will be careful with it. It’s just too dangerous to drive 3,000 miles total in this machine. Also, it’s going to be kind of nice to not need to worry about the challenge of such a roadtrip and the loneliness of it, the illegality of living out of a car, etc. It is frustrating that months of planning everything is going to waste.

But I’m still on winter break, still have almost 3 weeks before school starts up again, and still really want to go to Austin, Texas. I’ve wanted to go there for more than 3 years, and I still have the time, so I’m still going. I’m going to fly. I know I said in my last post that I’m too broke to afford a flight, but I’m doing it anyway. This is something that I’ve wanted for such a long time, it’s very important to me, and I don’t want to pass up my opportunity. I’m the kind of guy who never lets go of my dreams and aspirations. No matter what, if I aspire to do something, I’ll make it happen. Just maybe not the first time I try, like in this case.

I guess it’s less adventurous and romantic that I won’t be going on this insane roadtrip and living out of my car. However, I’ve actually spent the last week living out of my car– and it’s something I’ll surely do again when I travel another short distance (I’ve been in the Baltimore area, and came from 4 hours away in Pennsylvania). I have no intentions of un-converting my car from the tiny home I’ve made it into. It’s been pretty great. But for any really long-distance adventures in the future, I think I’ll settle for a flight. Better to do that than put my safety on the line.

I’m definitely going to blog daily about the experience I have in Austin, when I get there! I’ll be going during the week leading up to my birthday, which is January 16, if you wanted to know.

Happy new year, everyone!

