Day Zero

2000_nissan_quest_4dr_van_gxe_blue_power_steering_power_locks_99310157888109358
The Chamber of Secrets. I’ll be living in this thing for the next few weeks. It’s illegal in most places to sleep in, or live out of, your car so let’s keep it a secret between us. šŸ˜‰

I’m currently sitting in a hotel room in Baltimore and am full of dread. In a few minutes, I’m going to hop into my car and begin a long, 3-day drive to Austin, Texas.

For no reason.

I have no motivation. I’m a pretty happy guy, and this isn’t a soul-searching trip. Well, actually, I guess each day of life we spend has a little bit of soul-searching in it, a little bit of growth.

I just love to travel, and I have always wanted to go to Austin. I guess an ulterior motive I have (that I keep forgetting about) is to scope out the area and the university, see if I might want to live in the area or work at that school someday (my career is in student affairs). But really I’m just going to visit, see what there is to see, and experience what comes. I’m pretty damn excited.

Yet, I am full of dread. I have to drive more than 8 hours each day, for three days straight. I guess I could take more time to get there, but then it the ride would justĀ take forever. Also, I am a broke grad student and have no money. I undertook a surprisingly simple-but-not-easy home project over the past few months where I converted my minivan, affectionately nicknamedĀ The Chamber of Secrets, into a tiny home. I’ll be living and sleeping in this tiny home for the next two weeks. It’s not exactly convenient, but it sure beats the cost of hotels, and even the typically-lower costs of AirBnB.

I have driven 8 hours in a single day before. But not for 3 days in a row. And then, when I decide to leave Austin, it will be just as long of a journey back. So: I am feeling dread.

I’ll be blogging about my experiences and adventures on this trip as I go. Hopefully the trip will be safe and successful, but when you go on an adventure like this, anything can happen. That’s kind of the point, because it is so exciting, and that’s what my truestĀ motivation is: it’s exciting and fun. You experience new things, create new stories, and become a different person.

One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to go on more adventures and what better way to fulfill that resolution than by going on an adventure on the very first day of the new year?

