Leaving Austin, TX

11:03 AM

Today’s the day I am leaving Austin. Actually, January 15, which is when I’m writing this, is the day I’m leaving Austin. I might not publish this until Sunday, the 17th. I’m sitting at a barstool table at gate 14 at the Austin airport right now.

I’m pretty melancholic to be leaving. I am not looking forward to the freezing Pennsylvania winter. I have spent this week walking around in tank tops. And having the absolute best time of my life. Austin is awesome.

I spent my final night in Austin making some good memories. I got another chance to talk with my Australian pals and then headed out onto Dirty Sixth. On a Thursday night, it was fully alive, the police were out on horses and the streets had been blocked off so cars couldn’t pass through. Tons of people were out and I immediately understood why it’s called “Dirty Sixth.” It was a total shit show, but that’s a very fun scene if you’re in the mood for it.

Before the night really came to life though, I went to The Velveeta Room to see some more standup comedy. Some of the performers were the same people who had performed at the Gatsby, which I wrote about a few days ago. One of those performers was the transsexual, and I got to meet her. I was so tempted to let her know that I wrote a significant portion of my blog post about her, but I just left it at a simple introduction and we talked briefly about the comedy scene in Austin. Also, she was much less pretty up close, thankfully… because I’m not in the mood to be in a “questioning” phase with my sexuality. As with The Gatsby, some performers were good, some were only okay. The overall quality was better, though, probably because this show wasn’t free.

Then I went to see some improv, which was at The Hideout, a little farther down Sixth. Unfortunately, it wasn’t very good. Three groups performed, the first was pretty good, the second was okay, and the third was nearly awful. Improv is always going to be hit-or-miss, and it’s incredibly difficult to do it well, and it was a free show, so overall it was a good use of my time. However, if I was sticking around longer in Austin, I wouldn’t be interested in going there again.

622x350
Dirty Sixth gets even more crowded during SXSW and other big events.

Then I people-watched all the drunken late-teens/early-twenties people prowling the street. By the time the improv show ended, the night was no longer young and droves of people were out and about. I went to the most-happening bar and danced my face off for a while. It was a good time.

That was last night. And now I’m here, back at the airport. I’m exhausted—I haven’t taken a break during this whole trip. I think that’s what I’m most excited for when I get back to Pennsylvania: taking a break. How hilarious is it that I feel like I could use a break from vacation?

Like I started out by saying, though, I am melancholic. I have had an amazing time and am completely enamored with this city and the people in it. Nearly everyone I’ve met has been incredibly nice. Austin is a special place and I would be so happy to come here again.

