The 4 Kindest YouTubers I Met At VidCon

I went to VidCon. As one does at VidCon, I met YouTubers. All of them were cordial, but some were incredibly wonderfully nice and very sincere and so easy to make a real connection with. Here are the YouTubers that I had the best interactions with at VidCon:

Shay Carl

Shay and other panelists were rushed off the stage when the panel concluded, but after a few minutes, Shay popped out just for a hot second to talk to a couple fans. I was one of those two people. Shay is the biggest role model of my entire life, and I wrote this lengthy blog post before I left for VidCon about why he was the sole reason I even decided to go. I went to VidCon for no reason more significant than to thank Shay Carl for all he has done for me. And I got to do that. I only had a brief window to speak with him, and I told him some of my deepest darkest secrets in seconds, almost succumbing to tears. He hugged me and told me I inspire him to do what he does, and was very encouraging. This man is literally a hero. I tweeted about the encounter, and Shay “liked” it. He liked another of my tweets the next day, too. They were my first online interactions with him directly, and it is pretty cool that my very first-ever interaction with Shay was in-person.

Anna Akana

I got Anna for one of my lottery signings (you are entered into a lottery system to wait in a long line to meet a famous YouTuber), and I was so pumped. I have been a huge fan of hers for such a long time. I was one of the very first people in line to speak with her, and when I got to, I told her that she is the funniest comedian on YouTube, how relatable her comedy is, and how her more-serious subjects have really had an impact on me. As I was gushing about how great she is to her face, she got really happy and gave me a big hug. That’s where this photo came from:

Vidcon Anna Akana 3
Left: Anna Akana. Right: No one important.

Grace Helbig

Vidcon Grace Helbig 1
Me meeting Grace. She immediately reacted to my tattoo in a very positive way. Also, Grace is beautiful on her own, but just look how gorgeous she is when placed next to an ugly dude like me.

Grace was super nice and we had such a great little chat. I told her about how the “song” from her movie, Camp Takota, which obnoxiously goes “Camp, camp, camp it up!” has been stuck in my head for literally years. She told me I put a curse on her because now it would be stuck in her head too. When I walked away, I said to her, “Stay amazing!” and she said, “Likewise!” She also made a pretty great face during one of our photos:

 

Vidcon Grace Helbig 3
Grace is also an amazing hugger. She’s a seriously awesome person.

 

Peanut Butter Gamer

I’m not as into the gaming side of YouTube, but Peanut Butter Gamer (Austin Hargrave) was on a panel that I went to, and he was really generous with his time afterwards, talking to every single fan even though he got swarmed. He is, in my opinion, the funniest gamer on YouTube, and I told him that, and he was very sincerely thankful for my compliments. I think it’s because he’s just a normal dude who happened to make it big doing something fun that he loves. I don’t think he ever saw himself as the inspirational public figure he has come to be, so he is super humble and just a really nice guy. He was one of the first YouTubers I met, and I took a photo with him, and it was so blurry that I didn’t bother to take photos with any other YouTubers for the rest of the convention.

The end.

I did meet a TON of other YouTubers, and they were all very cool, and it was so great to meet them, but these 4 people were the coolest, nicest, most genuine YouTubers among all the ones I happened to meet. Go subscribe to their channels.

