Embracing the Chrome Dome

20170207_204549
Here’s how this adventure will end.

Sadly, I’m not talking about the Chrome Dome from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

I am a man. I’m still a bit young, 25, but I have been suffering from a receding hairline for several years already. Many men begin balding at some point in their life. My genetics decided I should start a little earlier than most. Some guys lose their hair around age 17, so I can’t really complain too much.

I struggled with the idea of fully shaving my head and going bald because I LOVE long hair. I think long hair looks great on both men and women, and it’s super fun to create different kinds of hairstyles.

However, even though the hair on the sides and back of my head is thick and full and strong… it is very thin and sparse up on top, in addition to the aforementioned receding hairline.

Last night, I decided to finally embrace the reality that is my balding. Today, I am bald.

I had been growing my hair out for 16 months, and it was longer than it had ever been.

Here are some before photos. You can notice the awful receding hairline, and the awkward “bangs” my hairline created.

And I had to get THESE next photos, because I am so in-love with the man-bun hairstyle. I am seriously going to miss putting my hair into a bun, even though it never really looked good on me.

Lastly, the photos below show the new me. Well, I’m not new. The only new thing is my decision to embrace my baldness. It’s not even been 24 hours, so I don’t really feel any different. But hopefully in time I’ll feel more comfortable and confident and stop worrying about my hair and physical appearance so much. That was the goal in shaving it all off.

Time to grow an epic beard!

